Search:     Advanced search

Settings - Logins

Article ID: 178
Last updated: 02 Jun, 2017
Revision: 4
Views: 0

This is where the logins that are associated with the GeoSystems Monitor are managed.  At the top of the panel, the currently logged in user's role and organization are displayed.   The next section is for setting the password of the GeoSystems Monitor Administrator, who can log in and change system settings even when an ArcGIS login is not available.  It is recommended that the Administrator password be changed here from the default (which is 'geo').  The bottom section is for specifying the ArcGIS Online Monitoring user.


The creation of a ArcGIS Online Monitoring connection is one of the first tasks after installation, and is covered in the Getting Started section.  This determines which ArcGIS Online organization the application will monitor.  Ideally this user identified in the connection is an Administrator in the ArcGIS Online organization, but they can also be a Publisher.  

NOTE:
If they are a Publisher, refer to the 'Settings - Roles' tab, and loosen the restrictions to either 'Publisher' or 'User'. 

Once the ArcGIS Online Monitoring user has been established, it is normally left unchanged since that user's credentials determine the access to any containers and monitored points from then on.  If a change must be made, the new user should have the same access in the organization to the content being monitored as the original user, if the intent is to continue monitoring the existing containers and their points. 

When the ArcGIS Online Monitoring user is created or changed, the connection is automatically tested, and a success or warning message will appear.  If, at any time, you would like to do this manually, click the [Test] button, and the 'Connection is Valid" message should appear.

The Standard edition of GeoSystems Monitor for ArcGIS Online supports one connection to one organization.  The Pro edition supports up to five connections to 5 organizations. If one of these connections is deleted all of the containers and monitoring points associated with that organization are deleted at the same time.

Prev   Next
Settings     Settings - Alerts